is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Soil: 'whole' album details revealed
Chicago heavy rokers Soil will release their sixth studio album, "Whole", on August 20 via Pavement Entertainment. It's the band's first 100% independent release.

"We wanted to call all the shots on this album and, for the first time ever, hold our future in our own hands," explains bassist Tim King.

"Shine On", the album's first single, will be released to radio June 18 and will be available digitally June 25. A video has been completed and will be released soon.

"Whole" is the first Soil album with original frontman Ryan McCombs since 2004's "Re.De.Fine" (after which he joined Drowning Pool). It sees Soil returning to its classic sound that fans have come to admire, with a pres release calling it the Cd "that could have come directly after the 'Scars' album in 2001.�

Following the 2012 release of its first-ever live Dvd, "Re-Live-ing The Scars", Soil began writing new material and entered the studio in February 2013 with producer Ulrich Wild (Pantera, Breaking Benjamin) to begin recording.

"This was by far the most comfortable and natural recording process we have ever experienced," says guitarist Adam Zadel. "From the writing, pre-production, and through the main tracking and mixing, everything was smooth and fluid."

Songs featured on "Whole" include "The Hate Song", "Loaded Gun", "Way Gone" and "Shine On", which is dedicated to the Soil fans for standing by the band throughout the years. Another track, "Amalgamation", sees McCombs taking songtitles from both the Soil and Drowning Pool releases he was a part of and weaving them into verses of the song.

"I think, lyrically speaking, those that are familiar with the work I've done are going to get the next chapter that they would expect," McCombs says about the lyrical process. "Words from a heart and mind that has lived them.

"One of the greatest things I experience as a lyricist is when people come up and share with me how a song, or a specific verse or line from a song, got them through a hard time or times in their lives. It reminds me of the times music did that for me and how powerful music and/or a lyric can be in a person's life."

Drums and percussion on "Whole" were performed by Will Hunt (Black Label Society, Evanescence, Device).

"Will added a whole new dimension to the songs," states King. "He added a monstrous and aggressive vibe to the album."

A guest guitar solo on "Wake Up" was performed by longtime friend Mike Mushok of the band Staind.

In touring news, Soil will hitting the road on June 19 for a show in Bowling Green, Kentucky at The Rustic Room along with Pop Evil. The band is currently lining up shows for the entire summer, which will be announced in the coming weeks.

"Whole" track listing:

01. Loaded Gun
02. The Hate Song
03. Ugly
04. Way Gone
05. Psychopath
06. Shine On
07. Wake Up
08. Amalgamation
09. My Time
10. Little Liar
11. One Love

"Shine On" audio stream:


"My Time" (new song) performance:


Details Posted on Sunday Jun 9th, 2013
Writer @Niamen

Tags: #soil
Related Content
Coal Chamber, Soil, Diablo Blvd. - A lot of old songs in a very intimate setting
Coal Chamber, Soil, Diablo Blvd. - A lot of old songs in a very intimate setting