is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Pain - Psalms Of Extinction
What would you do if you were a frontman from a wellknown deatmetal band and you wanted to do something different besides your own band and your producing work? Indeed, you start a project to play industrial music. This is of course not exactly how Peter Tägtren had it in mind but in a way that is what happened. So this led to already the fifth album of Pain, the sideproject of Peter Tägtren of Hypocrisy.
This fifth album, called Psalms Of Extinction, of Pain is produced by Peter Tägtren himself because like he stated before: “As soon as a producer and I would have a different idea we would fall out. Of course this wouldn’t hold Peter back to arrange some musicians to play along with some songs. So Mikkey Dee (Motörhead, King Diamond) did the drums on ‘Zombie Slam’ . Andres Iwers (In Flames) played bass on two songs and Alexi Laiho (Children Of Bodom) did some flaming stuffs on ‘Just Think Again’.
During this album several names crossed my mind; Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode, Marilyn Manson and even Rammstein. For example the first song, ‘Save Your Prayers’,  is a complete homage to Nine Inch Nails but still a song with its own face. The same can be said about the rest of the songs on the album. Several times I have the feeling I’ve heard it before but in a completely other way. Most of the time Peter manages to grab me by the balls at the beginning of the song and hold on till the end. Especially with songs like ‘Zombie Slam’, ’Clouds Of Ecstasy’ and ‘Just Think Again’.
Overall Psalms Of Extinction is a great album and could be the much awaited breakthrough for Pain. The album has it all. Great songs, a good production and even some radio friendly songs. The only question is: Will it gain the airtime that’s needed for this breakthrough? I definitely wouldn’t mind to hear this songs on the radio more often.
Pain - Psalms Of Extinction
82/1001Details Roadrunner Records
Released on Tuesday Apr 17th, 2007
Industrial metal

Writer @Niamen on Friday May 4th, 2007

Tags: #Pain
Tracklisting 01. Save Your Prayers
02. Nailed To The Ground
03. Zombie Slam
04. Psalms of Extinction
05. Clouds Of Ecstasy
06. Play Dead
07. Does It Really Matter
08. Computer God
09. Just Think Again
10. Walking On Glass
11. Bottle's Nest
12. Bitch
Line up Peter T�gtren - Everything