is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Mekong Delta - Lurking Fear
Mekong Delta is another band that’s been around for ages, but from which I haven’t heard a single tune. So I was curious what this cultband would sound like and if it would tickle my interest in their earlier albums.
Mekong Delta still plays a kind of technical thrash metal, where the emphasis clearly lies on technique and not really on easy to reproduce songs. I am someone who likes his metal not too difficult, so Lurking Fear is a difficult album for me to judge.
I like some ideas that I heard very much (especially the imperial death march piece that they used, Star Wars fans know what I’m talking about!), but in my opinion they used too many ideas in one song. I also am not really pleased with the production. It sounds thin, especially in the vocal department.
Clearly the guys are very talented and especially the guitarist and drummer make a big impression on me, but as I stated it’s not really my cup of tea. I found the album hard to get into even after hearing it like five times in a row. Technically it’s a great album with some nice ideas. I think that people who like their metal a bit more technical have to count up to 20 points on the score I give them.
Mekong Delta - Lurking Fear
65/1001Details AFM Records
Released on Friday Aug 24th, 2007
Technical Thrash Metal

Writer @Neurotic on Tuesday Sep 4th, 2007

Tags: #Mekong Delta
Tracklisting 1. Society In Dissolution
2. Purification
3. Immortal Hate
4. Allegro Furioso
5. Rules Of Corruption
6. Ratters
7. Moderato
8. Defenders Of The Faith
9. Symphony Of Agony
10. Allegro
Line up Leo Szpigiel � Vocals
Ralph Hubert � Bass&Guitars
Peter Lake � Guitars
Uli Kusch � Drums