is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

A Whisper In The Noise - Dry Land
Dry Land is A Whisper In The Noise's third full length album, filled with what they call 'orchestral garage rock'. The band name made me expect some sort of ambient music, which it is in some way, but there's more than just that. Let me tell you about this album.
What this band makes is best described as post-rock I suppose, but while most post-rock bores me quite quickly, A Whisper In The Noise surpasses this level and exposes me to a world of marvellous music. Very gentle, very calm, yet extremely balanced a filled with variety. Dry Land showcases delicate music at its best in my opinion.
The use of a variety in instruments adds to the diversity of this record a great deal. Although the music is very minimal, you get the idea of a layered song with every track. For me the best comparison to this record is Opeth's Damnation album, which handles the same kind of delicacy and relaxation. Well thought-through melodies pass by on very slow beats, taking you into dreamland. The band also reminds me a bit of Coldplay, only with songs that are actually interesting.
Yes, this is another disc for the cold days coming up. Excellent music for making love to by the fire. It almost makes me feel like I should drink wine or something. I'm very impressed with Dry Land, and any fan of the music described above should check this out asap, you'll regret it if you don't.
A Whisper In The Noise - Dry Land
90/1001Details Exile On Mainstream Records
Released on Friday Oct 19th, 2007

Writer @DemonDust on Monday Oct 22nd, 2007

Tags: #A Whisper In The Noise
Tracklisting 01. As We Were
02. Awaken To Winter
03. A New Dawn
04. This Time, It's
05. In Will
06. Sons
07. Armament
08. You, The Orphan
09. Beauty's Grace
10. Go Now
11. True Love Will Find You In The End
Line up West Thordson - vocals, piano, guitars, electronics
Hannah Murray - violin
Matt Irwin - drums