is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Scarpoint - The Silence We Deserve

Okey, what do we have here? A debut album from a Scandinavian melodic metal band produced by Daniel Bergstrand (Meshuggah, In Flames) and influenced by Lamb Of God, Meshuggah, At The Gates and Soilwork amongst others. So far nothing really groundbreaking if you ask me. Are these Swedish guys from Scarpoint just some clones or do they really have something to add to this genre? 

After the freaky intro �XxX�, which easily can be used for a thriller/horror movie, you get to meet the brutality of Scarpoint during the song �Disorder�. The track has some variations in speed in it and therefore it sounds a bit like the Dutch band Textures at some points. �Behind The Shadows� continues where �Disorder� ends, it is aggressive and heavy with some weird rhythms at the end. The other tracks on the record are pretty much the same. This doesn�t mean that the other songs are boring, but it means that there are no really surprises in the music. 

The band mixes death, thrash and some mathcore to a sound that isn�t completely theirs, but with some time these guys may be able to create a sound which is their own. Each member of the band is very talented and they play really tight music. This band has got a lot of potential if you ask me. Together with the production of Daniel Bergstrand this record is a must have for every melodic death metal fan!

Scarpoint - The Silence We Deserve
82/1001Details Blind Prophecy Records
Released on Monday Oct 22nd, 2007
Melodic Death Metal

Writer @Gilles on Tuesday Nov 27th, 2007

Tags: #Scarpoint
Tracklisting 1. XxX
2. Disorder
3. Behind The Shadows
4. Terminal Treachery
5. The Silence We Deserve
6. Chronic
7. Imposture
8. Self Greed
9. Oblivion
10. Against My Will
Line up Zoran Kukulj - Guitar
Henrik Englund - Vocals
Alexander North - Guitar
Eric Holmberg - Bass
Erik Thyselius - Drums