is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Xystus - Surreal
Progressive Metal. It's either a sad attempt to bring back knights, horses and very big blunt swords. Or it's very good engineered, well arranged music. People like or dislike it for different reasons. I don't like keyboards for instance, but it doesn't keep me from liking a lot of progressive metal though...I just hate the eighties. But that's a whole other story! The prgressive metal we are talking about when referring to Xystus is the latter, the well engineerd stuff!

is divided into two separate parts. The first part consists of some good stuff. It isn't really that recognisable, but it's good anyway.The second part is the part that made the score so high! Song 8 to 14 is a story told through beautiful music. The thing I like most here, is that it's almost a soundtrack to a movie. It would however be a shame to write a movie to it, because it would damage the music. Therefore I suggest you roll up a joint and put this album on, so you can find out what I mean!

Xystus brings us a record which clearly states that there is alot of potential here! I'm looking forward to seeing these guys live someday, just to see if they can pull it off to create the atmosphere that this record sets. Another Dutch band that knows how it's supposed to be done!
Xystus - Surreal
82/1001Details Universal
Released on Sunday Feb 3rd, 2008

Writer @LondonCustoms on Sunday Feb 3rd, 2008

Tags: #Xystus
Tracklisting 01. R.O.C.
02. My Chrysalis
03. Whole In Pieces
04. Run & Hide
05. Holding On To Better Days
06. Voltage
07. End Of The Line
08. Brighter Kind Of Light
09. Part I: Aenigma
10. Part II: Make It Happen
11. Part III: Mystified
12. Part IV: Confusion Collision
13. Part V: My Saviour
14. Part VI: It All Ends..
Line up Bas Dolmans - Vocals, Guitar
Ivo van Dijk - Drums, Synths
Bob Wijtsma - Guitar
Tom van Dijk - Bass guitar