is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Beyond The Void - Gloom Is A Trip For Two

Maybe you’ll know Beyond The Void for their tour in the virtual world “Second Life” as the first Metal and Gothic band ever, but it’s also possible that you’ve – just like me – never heard of these six German guys before. The facts around this band are that the band was founded in 2000 and they’ve recently released their third effort, named Gloom Is A Trip For Two.

The first thing that caught my eye was their Spanish-titled single of this record. ‘Seductora’ is a “thank you” to their Latin American fans and contains a guest performance of the Mexican singer Isadora Cortina. This track has really got some hit-potential and is the best song on the record. The correlation between the beautiful voice of Isadore and the dark and low voice of Daniel Pharos works out really well.

The other eleven songs on this disc are not bad at all, but ‘Seductora’ is by far the best song and a logical choice for a single. The Dark Rock of these guys sometimes sounds a bit too commercial though. Their music is really accessible, but that also can be seen as the biggest negative point about it all. The production is good, the songs are well-written and well-played, but if you like a challenge in your music I should recommend to look further.

Beyond The Void - Gloom Is A Trip For Two
75/1001Details Endzeit Elegies / Avasonic / Rough Trade
Released on Friday Feb 22nd, 2008
Dark Rock

Writer @Gilles on Monday Feb 25th, 2008

Tags: #Beyond The Void
Tracklisting 01. Her Dive Into Midnight
02. Seductora
03. Faminine
04. Cyanid Eyes
05. Gloom Is A Trip For Two
06. Nihilism
07. Let Me Reap
08. Rid Of The Earth
09. Hateworld
10. My Life Is A Lie
11. Unwanted
12. A Minute Before Dawn
Line up Daniel Pharos – Vocals
Dominik Morgenroth – Lead Guitar
Martin Tapparo – Guitar
Rudolf Pfaffenzeller – Synthesizer
Ulrich Mühlbauer – Bass
Claus Legarth – Drums