is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

We Insist! - Oh! Things Are So Corruptible
I have to admit that this is the first We Insist! release I have listened to, after seeing them live twice. Their shows have always been very impressing to me, so when I was handed a promo copy of their latest album Oh! Things Are So Corruptible I was curious if I would be equally flabbergasted by their music when it came from my speakers. And why not also make a review of it right?
We Insist! is a French avant-garde rock band, for those who didn’t know. Highly skilled musicians who deliver high quality music (a little jazzy, one might also say). On both the levels of rhythm and melody they manage to make complex arrangements sound very natural. As is the case with this record. The band, which holds two sax players in its ranks, has written twelve songs which flow by with great ease, but when listened to carefully one hears some great compositions. A nice detail is that the lead singer of the band is also the drummer, something you don’t see very often. Quite a tough job playing all those (often complex) beats while carrying the main voice.
I would definitely advise this to people who like their rock music a little different. Catchy, yet highly complex. For rockers with an acquired taste.
We Insist! - Oh! Things Are So Corruptible
86/1001Details Corruptible Records/Exile On Mainstream Records
Released on Wednesday Apr 2nd, 2008
Avant Garde Rock

Writer @DemonDust on Wednesday Apr 2nd, 2008

Tags: #We Insist!
Tracklisting 01. An Architect
02. Imperial Catechism
03. My Own Delight
04. Seclusion
05. The Great Disorder
06. Half Awake
07. No Coward
08. Time Is Lazy
09. Exhausted
10. The Sailor
11. Down To The Cellar
12. Early Recollections
Line up Drums & lead vocals : Etienne Gaillochet
Bass : Julien Allanic
Guitar & backing vocals : Eric Martin
Guitar & backing vocals : Julien Divisia
Saxs : François Wong
Saxs : Cyrille Mechin