is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Commander - The Enemies We Create
About two years ago I received the debut album of the German death metal band Commander, which was a promising disc. A nice balance between death and thrash metal with a brutal yet Swedish sounding production. Now its successor lies before me, entitled The Enemies We Create.
The band sounds a bit different than with its debut World’s Destructive Domain. The sound leans a bit more towards thrash, especially in the production you can hear this. I think this is a bit of a shame, because the previous record had a sort of Swedish death metal sound, which suited the band perfectly. The riffs they play aren’t too technical but more groove-aimed, which is something you hear in every song. Yet the production of this record doesn’t grab me as much as the previous one did.
Now I’m not saying this is a bad record, it’s just that the style they play has been done by so many bands before, if you don’t give it an awesome production that stands out from the masses it gets easily overlooked I fear. And this is a tight band that knows how to play, but in this form it doesn’t really add to the genre. A nice listen, but nothing remarkably shocking.
Commander - The Enemies We Create
70/1001Details Bad Land Records
Released on Friday Mar 28th, 2008
Death Metal

Writer @DemonDust on Saturday Apr 12th, 2008

Tags: #Commander
Tracklisting 01. Trust In Man
02. Vengeful Angel
03. The Enemies We Create
04. My Worst Enemy
05. New Age of Treason
06. New Age of Treason II
07. Ira
08. Still Alive
09. At Any Cost
10. Valley Of Fallen Stars
Line up Nick Kolar - Vocals / Guitars
Steffen Augstein - Guitars
Tobias Brandl - Bass
Willy Kraut - Drums