is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

iO - For The Masses
iO is the “other band” after the break up of Guano Apes in 2003. I always have liked The Guano Apes and I thought Sandra Nasic's solo album was okay, though not impressing. So I was very curious what the three ex- Apes could bring to the table with their new singer Charles Simmons on board.
Their debut can be easily qualified as modern rock. A very broad description, but they fit excellently in the contemporary rock landscape. The listener can recognize all kinds of influences. Of course the influence of Guano Apes is there, but one can also find influences of bands like Sevendust. And not only because the vocals of Charles are reminiscent to those of Lajon Witherspoon. The songs also have rhythms that draw comparisons to Sevendust.
The band has mixed those influences to create a nice modern rock album. Especially the vocals of Charles are a pleasant surprise. I have always been a big fan of the voice of Sandra Nasic, but I have to say that Charles has a voice that comes near to or even surpasses Sandra's. I really like the way that they have incorporated his soul voice with the rock rhythms and harmonies. It fits really well and gives way to some interesting twists in the songs.
This cd is just an excellent piece of work. I enjoyed it a lot and I think it will turn a few extra rounds in my player the coming months.
iO - For The Masses
81/1001Details Rocker Team Records
Released on Monday Sep 1st, 2008
Modern Rock

Writer @Neurotic on Saturday Oct 11th, 2008

Tags: #iO
Tracklisting 1. Say Something
2. Don’t Mean Nothing
3. In You
4. Attention
5. Stupid People
6. Mind Game
7. Fight Back
8. Stand My Ground
9. Rage
10. The Last To Know
11. Legacy
12. When I Fall
Line up Charles Simmons - Vocals
Henning Ruemenapp – Guitars
Stefan Ude – Bass
Dennis Poschwatta - Drums