is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Oceana Company - For The Boatman
The Dutch foursome Oceana Company is the latest addition to the Space Jam Records roster, who’ve just released their new album For The Boatman. The biography promises a mixture between Motorpsycho, Porcupine Tree, Queens Of The Stone Age and Anathema, which sets the bar pretty high. Let’s see if they live up to it.
The nine tracks featured on For The Boatman are indeed in the vein of these bands, very relaxed rock with a few raw edges here and there. It all sounds very progressive and ambient, making this record an easy listening session. The excellent groovy drum work from Robert Koole stands out the most on this disc, he lifts the band to a higher level. Unfortunately the same can’t be said about vocalist Matthijs Herder, who goes off tone every once in a while. Those are quite painful moments. Overall I don’t think he has an impressive voice anyway and I think I would have preferred the music instrumentally in the end.
Nevertheless it is obvious that the guys from Space Jam Records have found yet another great Dutch space-rock band to add to their roster. The vocals spoil the fun a bit, yet the music is very atmospheric and compelling. Check them out if you’re into this kind of relaxed progressive space rock.
Oceana Company - For The Boatman
70/1001Details Space Jam Records
Released on Tuesday Nov 18th, 2008
Progressive Rock

Writer @DemonDust on Thursday Nov 20th, 2008

Tags: #Oceana Company
Tracklisting 1. Landing
2. Trenchfever
3. Freedom Of Mind
4. Imaginary Time
5. Silent
6. A Wayfarer's Travel
7. The Warning Light Stays On
8. Boarman
9. The Big Sky
Line up Matthijs Herder - vocals, guitars, mellotron
Michiel Ferweda - guitars
Han Schilder - bass
Robert Koole - drums