is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Avenged Sevenfold - Live In The LBC & Diamonds In The Rough
In the review of Avenged Sevenfold’s album City Of Evil, the reviewer called their music gay-metal. Whether you like this extraordinary band or not, you’ll have to admit that this band is a little bit “weird”. Right from the start they were one of the misfits of the metal genre, but commercially they’re doing well. They’re emo enough to attract herds of young girls, but for example their version of Pantera’s ‘Walk’ is also (secretly) appreciated by the “true” metalheads. For the fans and the ones who want a nice introduction to the band they’ve now released Live In The LBC & Diamonds In The Rough. This DVD/CD package features a concert of their hometown show at Long Beach Arena and a CD with previously unreleased B-sides, covers and other rare material.
The main feature of this DVD is, as said before, their hometown show, while they headlined the Rockstar Taste Of Chaos tour on April 10th 2008. This concert gives you a representative view of the band live, without being annoyed by the screaming little girls that would show up when you’re actually going to see them live. You can say what you want about this band, but they can truly put on a great show! Supported by a good sound and some decently shot footage, this gig is definitely enjoyable. Also having them inviting someone from the audience to sing Pantera’s ‘Walk’ is a nice additive to their show. The extras unfortunately aren’t that special. You’ll only get some videos which were shown on the video screens during the tour. Especially the ‘Tour Intros’ are very annoying and filled with childish humor.
The CD Diamonds In The Rough consists of 7 previously unreleased tracks, a remix of ‘Almost Easy’, an alternate version of ‘Afterlife’ and two covers. Besides ‘Walk’ they’ve also put an Iron Maiden cover on this one, namely ‘Flash Of The Blade’. The 7 b-sides are enjoyable, but for a non-A7X fan not that interesting. You should know the band a little bit better to appreciate these songs more I guess. The alternated version of ‘Afterlife’ and the covers are the most interesting songs on this disc. I especially was amazed about how they come close to Maiden’s guitar sound, while still playing a song with that recognizable A7X-flavour. With ‘Walk’ they only try to copy Pantera and although it is a great song, they should have approached this song like they did with ‘Flash Of The Blade’. The alternate version of ‘Afterlife’ can best be described as Metallica’s S&M with a A7X song. The strings on this one work out really well and I would like to hear more songs like this in the future. S&A7X? I’m already looking forward to it.
If you’re calling yourself a fan of this band and you haven’t bought this package in your local record store you should be ashamed. For the other persons: the live-show definitely is a good introduction to the band. The Diamonds In The Rough CD is a bit unnecessary for someone that just got introduced to these rockers, but consider it as a nice bonus.

Live In The LBC DVD
Track listing ‘Live In The LBC’:
1. Critical Acclaim
2. Second Heartbeat
3. Afterlife
4. Beast & The Harlot
5. Scream
6. Seize The Day
7. Walk
8. Bat Country
9. Almost Easy
10. Gunslinger
11. Unholy Confessions
12. A Little Piece Of Heave
Tour Intros
Scream Intro Video
 ‘Encore Video
Diamonds In The Rough CD
1. Demons
2. Girl I Know
3. Crossroads
4. Flash Of The Blade
5. Until The End
6. Tension
7. Walk
8. The Fight
9. Dancing Dead
10. Almost Easy (CLA Mix)
11. Afterlife (Alternate Version)