is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Universe217 - Universe217
Founded in 2005, the Greek experimental foursome Universe217 released their debut self-titled album in 2007 through Duplicate Records. All 500 pressed copies of the record are sold out, so it’s being reissued through Burning World Records. The band is set to play a show at the upcoming edition of the Eurosonic festival in Groningen, so let’s find out what they come to bring to our small country.
Universe217 is a female fronted experimental doom rock/metal band. The band varies from very slow and atmospheric doom passages to some harder rocking up-tempo parts. The fact that they have a female singer really adds value to the sound of the band, for she holds an impressive voice. She manages to manipulate her vocal sound to match the emotion of the music perfectly, which are mostly depression, panic and anger. Very impressive.
The interesting spacey songs are a real treat to listen to. They manage to go from loungy, almost jazzy parts into epic rock and crawling doom metal. And all this with a great overall atmosphere that lingers throughout every song. I definitely recommend this to fans of bands like Made Out Of Babies, Neurosis, The Swans, Cult Of Luna, Red Sparowes and Sunn 0))) and their various projects. As I am informed by the bio, the band seems to be keen on collaborating with performance and visual artists when they play live, so should you get the chance to see them, don’t miss it!
Universe217 - Universe217
84/1001Details Duplicate Records/Burning World Records
Released on Monday Dec 1st, 2008

Writer @DemonDust on Thursday Dec 18th, 2008

Tags: #Universe217
Tracklisting 1. In Your Head
2. Inferno
3. Swallow
4. 66
5. Harmless
6. Nobody's Sincere
7. I Don't Give A Damn (In Your Head Pt3)
Line up Tania - Vocals
George - Drums
Manos - Guitars
Nikos - Bass