is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Burn Down Rome - Devotion

Sometimes you just don’t know anything to say about a specific release. When trying to review Burn Down Rome’s debut album Devotion I had such a writer’s block. With Devotion, these young Brits from London made a very challenging record for both the reviewer as the ‘normal’ listener. With the right tools, open-mindedness and a laptop, I’ll try to give you some insight in BDR’s debut anyway.

With ‘Michael’ as opening track, you might get the thoughts you’re dealing with some kind of Down-clone here. But when ‘Debauchery’ kicks in, that illusion will diminish right away. BDR presents some mighty post-rock influenced hardcore on this disc. Despite that they’re still teenagers, many bands could learn something from BDR’s music though. This is not your average post-hardcore, they definitely offer more than many others. It may sound cliché, but with the use of spoken lyrics, the intense instrumental title track and the variation between the songs, they definitely realized a fine debut.

With Devotion these four guys explored their capabilities and that resulted into an almost unique sound. If they’re able to personalize the sound they’ve created even more, we’ll probably be hearing much more from them in the upcoming years.

Burn Down Rome - Devotion
82/1001Details Visible Noise
Released on Monday Sep 15th, 2008
Post-rock / Hardcore

Writer @Gilles on Saturday Feb 7th, 2009

Tags: #Burn Down Rome
Tracklisting 01. Michael
02. Debauchery
03. Temperance
04. XO
05. Devotion
06. Apathy
07. Penitent
08. 11.11.
09. Daniel
Line up Jake Cade - Vocals
Max Mansson - Guitar
Nick Rothwell Jones - Bass
Jonathan Rogers - Drums