is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

The Covenant - Welcome To The Real World
The Covenant have been around for 20 years today, with a ten year break (I guess?!) between this album and the last. It's a Dutch band that likes to compare their music to The Doors and The Cult. Well...I'll give 'em one out of two, the latter, and like to compare 'em to a lot of other bands aswell because it's kinda hard labelling these guys! It's not really metal this shiny disc her, but do we like it at anyways?

Well I can't speak for the rest of the crew, but I like it! The first thing that stands out is Frank's great voice! It can be raw, kinda like Mark Lanegan, but it can surprisingly enough also sound a bit like Joe Jackson and Ian Astbury. Especially the song 'Wearing Shoes' shows his diversity. The other thing that is defining for this band is the great groove. You can really tell that they have been playing together for a long while now! The guitars and drums aren't trying to top each other, but make one great sound all together. Best groove and all-in effort is the put-on-yer-headphones-and-dance-song 'Living Alone'.

But why you ask? Why only 79 out of 100 if this album is so great? Well...the album has a lot of great songs, but others like 'Chasing Her Down' are also pretty good songs, but tend to slow the album down a bit too much. Oh well, they can't all be Zingers, right? Besides this, 35 minutes is just not going to cut it guys! We need a bit more than that I'm afraid! Nevertheless a great album!

The Covenant - Welcome To The Real World
79/1001Details Independent
Released on Friday Feb 20th, 2009

Writer @LondonCustoms on Sunday Feb 22nd, 2009

Tags: #The Covenant
Tracklisting 1. Real World
2. Baby Boy
3. Roses
4. So Easy
5. Living Alone
6. Chasing Her Down
7. Wearing Shoes
8. Sue Me
9. Time Has Come
10. The Worry Song
Line up Frank van der Reep - vocals, percussion, keys
Peter Stap - Bass
Chris Heemskerk - Drums
Hans Koomans - Guitar, keys, backing vocals