is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Celan - Halo
Talk about an all-star underground rock band! This band called Celan sort of popped out of nowhere right in my mailbox with their debut full length Halo. It features a variety of rockers with an extensive career in underground music. Therefore expect nothing less than a superb noise/rock record, ready to blow you away!

Celan started out as just a collaboration between Ari Benjamin Meyers (Einstürzenden Neubauten, Redux Orchestra) and Chris Spencer (Unsane, Cutthroats 9), but as soon as they started working on it they realized it was more than just a little project. The band hooked up with two guys from the band flu.ID for drum and bass duties and also hauled in Nikko Wenner from Oxbow to play the second guitar. The result is a compelling noise rock album that varies from harsh Unsane-like rock parts to more melodic post-rock to relaxing soundscape-like parts.

Even though Chris’ voice is a signature one, especially if you know his work with his other bands, it does sound like he managed to adapt enough for a more melodic band like Celan is (if I'm not confused with the vocal work of the bassist). This disc has the good elements of all aspects of noise-rock in it. It grooves, it has melodies, it’s experimental in some ways and it can blow you away with ease. Fans of the other bands of the members of Celan should definitely check this one out. Turn up the volume and enjoy!
Celan - Halo
83/1001Details Exile On Mainstream Records
Released on Monday May 18th, 2009
Experimental Rock

Writer @DemonDust on Thursday Jun 4th, 2009

Tags: #Celan
Tracklisting 01. Safety Recall Notice
02. A Thousand Charms
03. All THis And Everything
04. One Minute
05. Sinking
06. Weigh Tag
07. Washing Machine
08. Train Of Thought
09. It's Low
10. Wait And See
11. Lunchbox
Line up Chris Spencer - Guitars and Vocals
Ari Benjamin Meyer - Keyboards, Piano, Vibraphone, and Sampler
Niko Wenner - Guitars
Frans Xaver - Drums
Phil Roeder - Bass and Vocals