is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

The Reckoning - Counterblast
Belgium’s The Reckoning was formed under the moniker Infernal Legion back in 1993. They released a couple of demos, EPs and one full-length, until they changed their name in 2005. After that, the band became more prolific and released Deathlike Millennia in 2006 and its successor in 2008; the to be reviewed Counterblast.
One might know that a lot of quality albums are recorded in Hertz Studios in Poland. I’m talking about bands like Decapitated, Vader and Hate. The Reckoning made an excellent decision to travel to Poland to do exactly the same. From start till finish, this disc is one hell of a basher, of which I can easily say that this is one of the best Belgian extreme metal releases of 2008.

The production is, as can be expected, excellent. Not clean, but fat and grooving, simply terrific for its music. The Reckoning’s sound is a mix between a death metal version of Dutch thrashers Legion Of The Damned and Polish assaulting acts such as Vader. Strong riffage, ultra tight blastbeats and everything played as accurate as a time bomb. Add some black metal influences and an almost mechanic feel and also Hate is a serious comparison. Not bad for a band that originally started out as melodic black metal outfit.

If you’re not afraid of a lethal dose of tight blasts and utter groove, be sure to check out this killer record. Softies keep out!
The Reckoning - Counterblast
85/1001Details Shiver Records
Released on Friday Jun 20th, 2008
Blackened Death Metal

Writer @Mindsaver on Thursday Jun 11th, 2009

Tags: #The Reckoning
Tracklisting 01. Intro
02. Downward Discipline
03. March To Your Death
04. Heap Of Wretchedness
05. Hellkind
06. Vermicular
07. Nailed To Inquity
08. Level Of Containment
09. Bleed Divine
10. Dead Shall Rise
Line up Peter Noens - Vocals, Guitar
Styg - Guitars
Morbid - Drums