is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Gunslinger - Earthquake In E Minor
Earthquake In E Minor is the debut album of British band Gunslinger. That we don’t deal with rookies here is apparent when I read the name Alan Davey. Alan Davey is the former bass player of Hawkwind (metalheads who don’t know this band, this was the former band of Lemmy, and for readers who don’t know who Lemmy is; you’re wrongly being redirected by the Boyzone fanpage). The ideas for the songs on this album were already made in the late seventies, but because of Alan getting the job as bass player at Hawkwind the ideas were set aside.
The music you can expect on this album is a mix between Hawkwind and Motorhead. Alan doesn’t have the recognizable vocal style of Lemmy, but his vocals are reminiscent, though not on the same level. The bass is very prominent present, but that’s not strange when the bandleader plays the bass.
So far so good. A nice mix of styles, a very good bass player and ‘Night Song´ makes a nice impression. What follows though, doesn’t make much of an impression. I am getting the idea that I’m listening to the same song over and over again. Of course there are some exceptions, for example ‘Warhorse’ and the almost danceable ‘Blitzkrieg Baby’ are quite alright, but overall the song quality is way too poor to make me happy.
I think that Gunslinger has the potency to make an interesting album, but Alan has to shove his ego aside. The prominent presence of the bass is nice in a few songs, but it overrules every other instrument and that’s a shame. They have some nice tools with the fine voice of Alan and his bass playing, but at this point this effort just won’t cut it. Better luck next time!
Gunslinger - Earthquake In E Minor
62/1001Details Buzzville Records
Released on Sunday Mar 1st, 2009
Heavy Rock

Writer @Neurotic on Saturday Jun 13th, 2009

Tags: #Gunslinger
Tracklisting 1. Night Song
2. If The Bombs Don’t Get Ya, The Bullets Will
3. Shellshocked
4. Savage Love
5. Cyanide
6. Blitzkrieg Baby
7. Going In For The Kill
8. Hymn Of The Wild
9. Don’t Need You
10. Warhorse
11. Gunslinger
Line up Alan Davey – Vocals, Bass, Synths
Nigel Potter – Guitars, Keys, Vocals
George Agent – Drums, Percussion