is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Empyrean - Quietus
Hailing from Down Under, Empyrean is a symphonic black/death metal band with under their belt one EP and one full length record. The latter was released in 2008 and is under attention in this review here. Let’s see what these youngsters have to offer to the Aussie metal scene.
The main bands I hear in Empyrean’s Quietus record is a combination of Children Of Bodom, Cradle Of Filth, Dimmu Borgir and Arcturus. Be it that they never really make it to the level of these giants. They aim for a semi-commercial sound by adding loads of keyboard parts to their music, yet they more than often sound out of place (and/or out of balance) or just copy/pasted from the bands mentioned above. I get the feeling they’ve stolen a lot from all the bands mentioned for that manner. Now it is better to steal something decent than to make up crap yourself, but in this case it feels like they’re cheating.
In average it is clear to hear that these guys do know what they’re doing, yet they’re still looking for a face and sound of their own, I’d say. For me Quietus sounds like they’re taking their first steps in the vast wasteland of metal, but they will have to fight for their place. The question remains if they’ll be able to keep their heads above water. Time will tell.
Empyrean - Quietus
58/1001Details Prime Cuts Music
Released on Monday Dec 15th, 2008
Symphonic Black/Death Metal

Writer @DemonDust on Sunday Sep 27th, 2009

Tags: #Empyrean
Tracklisting 01. Prelude 03:58
02. From Whenc​e the Mourn​ing Came 04:43
03. Halls​ of Sorrr​ow 04:35
04. Pleas​ure of Anoth​er'​s Pain 05:16
05. Shack​led Withi​n 03:58
06. Raped​ and Dying 05:08
07. Waves​ of Tomor​row 04:42
08. Throu​gh Death​ and Beyon​d 05:43
09. When the Sky Turne​d 05:07
10. Quiet​us 05:57
Line up James Hill - Vocals
Shayne Johnson - Guitar
Timothy Edwards - Guitar
Daniel Tannett - Keyboards
Daniel Sigglekow - Bass
Timothy Wedel - Drums