is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Ablaze In Hatred - The Quietude Plains
Ablaze In Hatred is a Finnish doom/death metal band that was formed in 2004. After one demo and one full length, they now bring us their second record entitled The Quietude Plains. Obviously we’re not dealing with feel good party music here, but depressing funeral doom metal. Let’s see if these guys know how to bring it.
The sound these Finnish boys and girl bring to the table is very depressing, but very atmospheric as well. Well produced, slow, heavy riffs with high pitched melodic guitar parts are the foundation, topped by enchanting, atmospheric keyboards and haunted growls and grunts. Seven lengthy songs which all reach between seven and twelve minutes, clocking in at a total of just over an hour. The sound of the band is very reminiscent of bands like Draconian, Swallow The Sun, Katatonia and of course the mighty My Dying Bride, only with that typical Finnish sound, which is a bit lighter than the sound of English and Norwegian funeral doomers.
For me the point where they fail a bit is originality. I have a shitload of promo records in my room with a sound just like this, and all of them have few to none elements of their own to display. I guess that is one of the main problems with funeral doom, stray too far from the path and you might miss your goal. Yet on the other hand, who wants to listen to the same stuff over and over again? If you like the genre, definitely give these guys a try and find out for yourself.
Ablaze In Hatred - The Quietude Plains
72/1001Details Firebox Records
Released on Wednesday Jan 21st, 2009
Funeral Doom Metal

Writer @DemonDust on Thursday Oct 15th, 2009

Tags: #Ablaze In Hatred
Tracklisting 01. A Walk Through the Silence 10:22
02. Perfection of Waves 07:28
03. The Wandering Path 08:13
04. Beyond the Trails of Torment 07:13
05. The Quietude Plains 08:52
06. My Dearest End 09:36
07. Therefore I Suffer 11:18
Line up Juhani Sanna - Guitar
Mika Ikonen - Vocals, Guitar
Miska Lehtivuori - Bass
Antti Hakkala - Drums
Eve Kojo - Keyboards