is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

The Parlor Mob - And You Were A Crow
First of all I have to make an apology towards the guys of The Parlor Mob. It took me way too long to write this review, while their debut album for Roadrunner Records is worth all the positive publicity they get. These youngsters from New Jersey started a band called What About Frank? when they just finished high school in 2004. Four years later they signed a contract with Roadrunner under the name The Parlor Mob, because that “is a less hokey name and more representative for their music”.
When they started with What About Frank? they had a more progressive rock based sound, but this evolved to a more bluesy, experimental approach to the sound of the 60s and 70s on their debut And You Were A Crow. The album kicks off with the single ‘Hard Times’ and this immediately resembles the whole album in a perfect way. Explosive riffing, solid base lines and powerful drumming topped with the characteristic voice of Melicia. This album is a great tribute to Led Zeppelin and although they try hard to not be just a LZ-coverband, this challenge doesn’t completely succeeds.
One of their best songs, the slow, 8 minute long ‘Tide Of Tears’, has a lot of similarities composition-wise to Led Zeppelin’s ‘Since I’ve Been Loving You’. This makes it slightly less resourceful, but still this album is a must have for you rockers out there.
The Parlor Mob - And You Were A Crow
85/1001Details Roadrunner Records
Released on Thursday May 8th, 2008

Writer @Gilles on Friday Nov 27th, 2009

Tags: #The Parlor Mob
Tracklisting 01. Hard Times
02. Dead Wrong
03. Everything You’re Breathing For
04. The Kids
05. When I Was An Orphan
06. Angry Young Girl
07. Carnival Of Crows
08. Real Hard Headed
09. Tide Of Tears
10. My Favorite Heart To Break
11. Bullet
12. Can’t Keep No Good Boy Down
Line up Mark Melicia – Vocals
David Rosen – Guitar
Paul Ritchie – Guitar
Nick Villapiano – Bass
Sam Bey – Drums