is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Lux Ferre - Atrae Materiae Monumentum
Hailing from the capitol of Portugal, Lisbon, comes this black metal band named Lux Ferre. The band was formed in 2001 and has released two demo records, two split records and one full length to date. Last year brought the coming of their second full length outing entitled Atrae Materiae Monumentum. Let’s see what these dudes have in store.
Overall the sound of Lux Ferre on this album is quite dreamy, romantic one might even say. I actually get reminded of bands like Wolves In The Throne Room and Altar Of Plagues, yet the overall execution is very different. They do share the same feeling for despair and anger, as this is exhaled throughout the album. Fast parts, mid tempo parts and slow parts all alternate each other, creating enough dynamics to keep things interesting for the whole ride. Although at the end of the album one does realize that the song-writing in general is not very original or refreshing.
In average this is a nice listen for fans of black metal despair. The sound is dense, dreamy and true to the style and the production is quite nice. It’s just that the lack of originality in song-writing takes their chance at real fame away a bit, but there is plenty of time to work on that for the next record. If they write some more interesting stuff Lux Ferre could very well be present on even a fest like Roadburn in the future. Keep it up dudes!
Lux Ferre - Atrae Materiae Monumentum
70/1001Details Ketzer Records
Released on Tuesday Sep 8th, 2009
Black Metal

Writer @DemonDust on Saturday Jan 23rd, 2010

Tags: #Lux Ferre
Tracklisting 01. O Caminho
02. The Bell of Fate
03. Atrae Materiae Monumentum
04. Correntes
05. Pira
06. Breu
07. Thirst for Despair
08. Dormente
Line up Devasth - Vocals, Programming
Pestilens - Guitars
Vilkacis - Bass

Drums on this record by Pedro Madeira