is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Dark Age - Acedia
Dark Age hails from Germany and has been active since 1994. Like many other German bands they’ve mainly been active within their own region and own country. Maybe their next effort Acedia opens up the borders to new countries around the globe for Dark Age to conquer.
Kingdom Nevercome’ is the first song on the album and starts with a simple but effective intro and when after several seconds the drums kick in, we're off to 45 minutes of Dark Age’s melodical death metal. During this first song it’s pretty obvious the sound of Dark Age lies somewhere between Soilwork and In Flames and it wouldn’t surprise me if those bands would be of huge influence on the bandmembers of Dark Age.
Within the next couple of songs I’m getting to know Dark Age better and I do have to conclude they're not really impressing me. The first couple of songs remind me to much of other acts within the same genre and Dark Age isn’t really capable of creating their own face. Although they do attempt to create something different with ‘Zeitgeist (Ghost In The Machine)’, which reminds me a lot of the Pain project, it’s completely out of tone compared to the other songs on the album.
Overall it’s pretty obvious this is not going to be the next big thing and this album is certainly not the way to open up the borders for Dark Age. All in all it could sound okay for the occasional melodical death metal head but to me Acedia didn’t convince me.
Dark Age - Acedia
63/1001Details AFM Records
Released on Friday Nov 13th, 2009
Melodic Death Metal

Writer @Niamen on Tuesday Feb 2nd, 2010

Tags: #Dark Age
Tracklisting 01. Kingdom Nevercome
02. Devote Yourself to Nothing
03. Neon Gardens
04. Snake of June
05. Zeitgeist (Ghost in a Machine)
06. 10 Steps to Nausea
07. Halo Meridian
08. Underneath These Burdens
09. All the Unfulfilled
10. Babylon Riots
11. Myself Heretic
Line up Eike Freese - Vocals / Guitar
Jörn Schubert - Guitar
André Schumann - Drums
Alex Henke - Bass
Martin Reichert - Synthesizer