is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Zao - The Fear That Keeps Us Here
From the wastelands of Pennsylvania, Zao releases their tenth album upon humanity. Zao started back in 1995 playing simple hardcore music and after several line up changes the music started to change to metalcore. Nowadays, when everybody is playing standard metalcore songs Zao is already one step ahead with their experimental style.
The first song on The Fear What Keeps Us Here, ‘Cancer Eater’ starts with a peaceful melodic intro which bursts out into a violent musical eruption. Immediately the tone is set for the rest of the album. The second song ‘Physician Heal Thyself’ immediately puts the album in 5th gear and doesn’t stop until it reaches the end of the album. Along the road Zao creates some fine pieces of music.
For example take the song ‘It’s Hard Not To Shake With A Gun In Your Mouth’ starts like it could be a song from The Dillinger Escape Plan and has a really quiet intermezzo in between, but it ends a bit like At The Drive-In. This is just one example but there are many great songs on this album, just try out ‘Physician Heal Thyself’ , ‘There Is No Such Thing As Paranoia’ and ‘Kingdom Of Thieves’.
Already two bands have been mentioned but don’t forget there’s so much more in Zao then these two. I believe the sound of Zao lies somewhere in a mix between The Dillinger Escape Plan, From Autumn To Ashes, At The Drive-In and a bit of Coheed And Cambria.
Overall Zao created a very dark and impressive album that will still surprise you after numerous of turns. With the new album in the pocket this could be a great year for Zao, because The Fear That Keeps Us Here could be one of the revelations of 2006.  
Zao - The Fear That Keeps Us Here
89/1001Details Ferret Records
Released on Monday Jun 12th, 2006
Experimental Metalcore

Writer @Niamen on Monday Jun 19th, 2006

Tags: #Zao
Tracklisting 1. Cancer Eater
2. Physician Heal Thyself
3. Everything You Love Will Soon Fly Away
4. It\'s Hard Not To Shake With A Gun In Your Mouth
5. Kingdom Of Thieves
6. Killing Time \'Til It\'s Time To Die
7. There Is No Such Thing As Paranoia
8. Pudgy Young Blondes With Lobotomy Eyes
9. My Love My Love (We\'ve Come Back From The Dead)
10. American Sheets On The Deathbed
11. A Last Time For Everything
Line up Daniel Weyandt - Vocals
Scott Mellinger - Guitar/Vocals
Martin Lunn - Bass
Jeff Gretz - Drums