is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Circle Of Dead Children - Zero Comfort Margin
Grind, grinder, grindest. Oh well, not exactly a literary highlight to start a review with, but it's exactly what you get. I remember Circle Of Dead Children's last album as a viceral grind attack and their new opus is just the same. Zero Comfort Margin is an apt title because this isn't really sounding like anything comfortable.

When an album has 15 songs and lasts just over 20 minutes it's either hardcore or grind of course, so that's one point  in the pocket for these lads. So what can you say? Circle Of Dead Children grind, blast and plow their way through and  while absolutely sounding competent and boasting some nice riffs it's nothing that you actually haven't heard

The guttural hashpipe through a coffeemachine vocals, slower than slow breakdowns, hyperblasts and nasty guitar squeeks do their trick and if this type of grind is your thing you should definitely give it a listen.

The one thing that waters this down is the production. It sounds muddy, messy and unpowerful. I had to turn the  volume way up and add a lot of extra bass to make it sound a bit like it should; raw and extreme. The few details in the guitarwork are all but lost in chaotic sound and that is a shame. Next time a better studio please and then we're probably talking.

And 80 for effort and a 60 for execution, you do the math. (or check the mark at the top)
Circle Of Dead Children - Zero Comfort Margin
70/1001Details Willowtip Records
Released on Tuesday Jul 12th, 2005

Writer @Ce-El-Wan on Monday Jul 3rd, 2006

Tags: #Circle Of Dead Children
Tracklisting 1. Forward Through The Copper Sun (0:20)
2. Zero Comfort Margin (1:47)
3. No Tears Fall Through Hollow Eye Sockets (0:57)
4. Chemical Goat (1:08)
5. Whimper (0:55)
6. Android: 120 Ampere Opiate (0:58)
7. Host(age) (1:24)
8. Bohemian Grave (0:38)
9. The System As The Master Deceiver (0:30)
10. Born On A Bomb Shell (1:41)
11. Strip Naked For The Killer (1:42)
12. A Homage To Tombstone Granite (0:51)
13. Footprints In Fire (0:35)
14. Playdumb (3:00)
15. For Black Eyes Only A.k.a. Depopulate: Tears Of Illuminati (3:50)
Line up