is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Murder One - Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid
Featuring members of Iron Monkey and Pulkas, I was looking forward to “Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid” from Murder One. The band also features a familiar voice; John Loughlin from Raging Speedhorn was added to the band after show which had him as a guest vocalist. Apparently the guys liked that enough to ask him to join the band on a permanent basis.
Murder One’s  bio describes the music as a mix between Metallica, Slayer & Pantera, mixed with modern bands as Slipknot and System of a Down. Well, I can say that that doesn’t make sense at all. The closest thing I can come up with is (unsurprisingly) Raging Speedhorn and fellow Brits Beecher, and maybe some traces of Norma Jean. Somehow rooted in nu-metal with some hardcore and metalcore vibes and a lot of screaming, Murder One sounds like a jackhammer to your head. The pace is pretty much consistent throughout the whole disc, which might lead to a monotone feel if it’s not your kind of thing since it’s harsh and sometimes chaotic music.
As already said, the band unfortunately loses itself in the straight on assault on your eardrums. Some more differences in tempo or using some intros could have spiced this disc up a bit. As a first record it’s decent, let’s hope that we can find some more creative writing on the follow-up.
Murder One - Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid
69/1001Details Grind That Axe Records
Released on Saturday Jul 15th, 2006

Writer @Carn on Saturday Jul 15th, 2006

Tags: #Murder One
Tracklisting John Loughlin - Vocals
Paul Catten - Vocals
Dan Marshall - Guitar
Mark Seddon - Guitar
Jules McBride - Bass
Jaimie “Jammer” Airns - Drums
Line up 01. The Call That Never Came
02. Where The Body Lay
03. Sensory Deprivation
04. Burns, Tablets And Knives
05. Start Of The War
06. A Picture Paints A Thousand Lies
07. It Was Lies
08. Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid
09. Three Steps Back
10. On Screen Rapist
11. Born With Tourettes