is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Artlantica: debut album details revealed
Spv/Steamhammer has announced the signing of the melodic metal outfit Artlantica to a worldwide deal.

Commented Artlantica guitarist Roger Staffelbach: "After all the blood, sweat and tears we've put into making that album, we're more than happy and excited to see our album getting released by one of worlds finest companies, Spv/Steamhammer. It's a true pleasure to work with Olly Hahn and all at Spv and we're confident that this is only the beginning. A big hello and thank you go out to Olly Hahn, all at Spv and Peter Knorn from our management (Utm) for sharing our vision and making this happen."

Olly Hahn, A&R at Steamhammer, adds: "What do we have here: great melodies, awesome guitar virtuosity and a tight band which knows how to play melodic metal how it should be. We are more than happy to welcome Artlantica to the Spv family!"

Great vocal melodies with anthemic potential, virtuoso guitar and keyboard passages, including spectacular solos, in addition to a blistering rhythm section which gives the songs their pace, groove and dynamics: the very ingredients which guaranteed seven brilliant releases in ten years from the American-Swiss cult act Artension and caused a global stir on "The End Of Never", the only album by Artension's successor Angel Of Eden, also inspire listeners on Artlantica's debut album "Across The Seven Seas".

This doesn't really come as a surprise: after all, Artlantica features three of the most important driving forces behind Angel Of Eden in guitarist Roger Staffelbach, frontman John West and keyboardist Mistheria. In addition, Staffelbach and West (Artension, Royal Hunt) belonged to were the driving forces and founding members of Artension (together with Vitalij Kuprij, now of Trans-Siberian Orchestra) and Mistheria has made a name for himself with his collaborations with Bruce Dickinson and Rob Rock. All three are, without a doubt, real masters of their trade who have combined their talents to present ten brilliant new songs. Staffelbach describes the result as "powerful, heavy, occasionally majestic, grooving, melodious and timeless. Each instrument has its place, none of them sounds too dominant, everything has only one purpose, to serve the song."

Staffelbach, West and Mistheria enjoy an excellent reputation among their colleagues and can pick and choose when it comes to selecting their guest musicians: "Across The Seven Seas" features Dani Löble (Helloween) and John Macaluso (Yngwie Malmsteen, Tnt, Ark) on drums, the bass parts were recorded by bass icon Steve DiGiorgio (Sadus, Testament), who also previously worked with Artension and Angel Of Eden. And last but by no means least, Artlantica succeeded in enlisting none less than Chris Caffery of Savatage and Trans-Siberian Orchestra as their guest guitarist. The result of this high-calibre collaboration was mixed and mastered at Tommy Newton's (Helloween, Gamma Ray) Area 51 studios, with Newton also adding his extensive expertise.

"Across The Seven Seas" will be released in the Usa on June 4 and in Europe on May 27 as a Cd and digital download (including one bonus track, "Stormbringer").

"Across The Seven Seas" track listing:

01. 2012 (04:00)
02. Devout (04:36)
03. Across The Seven Seas (04:53)
04. You're Still Away (05:19)
05. Ode To My Angel (03:54)
06. Fight For The Light (04:21)
07. Demon In My Mind (04:37)
08. Return Of The Pharaoh Pt. 3 (05:43)
09. Heresy (04:49)
10. Nightmare Life (05:25)

Details Posted on Friday Mar 22nd, 2013
Writer @Neurotic

Tags: #artlantica,