is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Evaline - Postpartum Modesty. a Portrait of Skin
Already being formed in 2001, California’s Evaline has not been standing still ever since. Their first EP was picked up by Quinn Allman of The Used and now they’ve released another six-song filling EP with the greatest name of a record ever: Postpartum Modesty. A Portrait of Skin.
Although the EP contains only six songs, it is clear to hear that the guys from Evaline have found a lot of inspiration in listening to the greatest melancholic Britpop bands nowadays. Name bands like Placebo and Radiohead and you get some kind of an impression. But isn’t that something we’ve heard before so many times?
Yes it is, actually. Although the songwriting is pretty nice, I cannot say I hear some very new things. All of the six songs sound somewhat the same with ‘Postpartum Modesty’ as the best one, with a beautiful outro where different vocals combine in a ‘whohoo’. But for the rest, I can only say that the typical combination of two guitars (one plays chords, the other melodies) is a thirteen in a dozen case. And that’s a shame.
The thing is, to become a really promising band in this scene, you have to do something really outstanding in order to get the attention. There are so many other bands who sound like you and that is also the case here, unfortunately for Evaline. They haven’t been writing bad songs, but it is hardly exciting and has very little to offer to the musical scene.
Evaline - Postpartum Modesty. a Portrait of Skin
60/1001Details Earshot Media
Released on Wednesday Aug 23rd, 2006

Writer @CarpeSiem on Wednesday Aug 23rd, 2006

Tags: #Evaline
Tracklisting 1. La de da
2. Calm Touching
3. Where the Fearless Hide
4. Postpartum Modesty
5. Write your Pretentious Squalls
6. A Protest in Lines Too Thin to Read
Line up Richard Jonathan Perry: vocals/keys/viola
Christian Lewis: guitar
Steven Forrest: percussion
Dominic Di Ciano: guitar
Steve Pedersen: bass/synth