is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Empyrios - ...And The Rest Is Silence
Empyrios was founded in the fall of 2001 by Simone Mularoni and Matteo Mastroianni (both ex-Marsh Mallows members) who wanted to create music which would be a mixture of powerful thrash metal (such as Nevermore, Meshuggah and Fear Factory), the technical and melodic aspects of progressive music (Ark, Devin Townsend, Evergrey and Symphony X) and as finishing touch some symphonic orchestral parts. Until now, they have been busy completing the line-up, released a demo, and made progress as a band by rehearsing and playing shows.
It is remarkable how long they have waited to finally release a complete record, but it seems that this was a great choice as this debut-album isn’t a typical album where you can hear a band that is still kind of searching its own style. Not at all, these guys perfectly know what they want to play and especially how to play it. This 12-tracked album brings us a very diverse sound with 4 instrumental songs that make this album a ‘journey’ on its own. The first four songs are very aggressive and raw. Then you get a chance to breathe with ‘Prelude to Sleepless Tragedy’, an ear pleasing instrumental song. After that, vocalist Silvio Mancini gives the music some more space and produces a more melodic style of singing which results in some awesome typical melodic power metal songs, though still with the progressive elements! The rest of the record follows this path and ends with the instrumental ‘FarCry’.
The diversity within the songs is also remarkable. For example the song ‘The Ruiner’: starts very technical, then becomes more melodic and eventually ends with something that could have been the film score for Pirates of the Caribbean! And all of this without losing any fluentness. The virtuosity of these musicians is amazing and the great thing is that they don’t want to show it off. They easily could, but they don’t choke the music with breathtaking solos and such. They do what is good for the music, a sign of professionalism.
Empyrios will pleasure everyone who likes melodic, progressive, aggressive and orchestral elements. With …And The Rest Is Silence they have brought forth a very professional and musically nearly perfect debut-album. These guys are one of the many who claim to create original and beautiful music and are one of the few who also succeed!

A nice addition to the record is that it comes with a bonus ‘Making Of” video!
Empyrios - ...And The Rest Is Silence
90/1001Details Burning Star Records
Released on Tuesday Jan 16th, 2007
Technical Power Metal

Writer @Peekay on Tuesday Feb 20th, 2007

Tags: #Empyrios
Tracklisting 1. Wreckage (Instrumental)
2. Tort
3. The Ruiner
4. Unbalanced Equilibrium
5. Psycho Terrorism
6. Prelude To The Sleepless Tragedy (Instrumental)
7. Insomnia
8. Eal
9. Perseverance
10. Losing Myself In The Downward Spiral (Instrumental)
11. Failure Of Eye
12. FarCry (Instrumental)
Line up Silvio Mancini – Vocal
Simone "Sym" Bertozzi - Bass
Matteo Mastroianni - Drums
Simone Mularoni - Guitar
Emanuele Casali - Keyboards