is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Rush - Snakes&Arrows
I’m always in a rush when these Canadian heroes release a new album. Because in their almost 40 year spanning career Rush have never released a disappointing album. Well, as far as the songs go, because sound wise I do have a few complaints. Their 2002’s Vapor Trails has quite a fuzzy sound. Their Feedback cover album is also quite murky. I know that was deliberate, but I sure hoped that Snakes & Arrows would be graced with a better sound.
I guess Rush didn’t want to repeat history, as they let Nick Raskulinecz handle producer duties this time. Writing these new songs began with Geddy and Alex jamming with each other. Drummer Neil Peart wrote preliminary lyrics for the songs. This method of creating new material is what they mostly used on their earlier works. And oh boy did they make the right decision. Not only is the great sound a treat, song wise it does remind you of a bygone era. It was hard to curb my enthusiasm when in ‘Far Cry’ I heard a few chords that are very reminiscent of 1978’s ‘Hemispheres’. Without further listening I wanted to hand out the maximum score. But hey, even as a big fan you should first listen to the rest of the album before you make your final judgement.
As usual Peart’s lyrics are inimitable. This line from ‘Armor and Sword’ for example ‘By the flashes of artillery light, no one gets to their heaven without a fight’ shows once again that he has a way with words. So it is a little strange that this Rush album has so many instrumental songs. No less than three creations are found on Snakes & Arrows. They're good, but none of them come even close to the brilliant ‘YYZ’ or ‘La Villa Strangiato’. Especially on ‘Malignant Narcissism’ I miss vocals.
But basically I have very few complaints about the album. The songs are just great. You should just listen to the brilliant ensemble playing of Geddy, Neil and Alex. You can practically hear every nuance of every instrument thanks to the great sound. A big thumbs up for the snakes!
Rush - Snakes&Arrows
95/1001Details Atlantic
Released on Tuesday May 1st, 2007
Progressive Rock

Writer @Angel on Wednesday May 30th, 2007

Tags: #Rush
Tracklisting 1.Far Cry
2.Armor and Sword
3.Workin' Them Angels
4.The Larger Bowl (A Pantoum)
6.The Main Monkey Business
7.The Way The Wind Blows
10.Bravest Face
11.Good News First
12.Malignant Narcissism
13.We Hold On
Line up Geddy Lee - bass guitar, bass pedals, mellotron, vocals
Alex Lifeson - six- and twelve-string electric and acoustic guitars, mandola, mandolin, bouzouki
Neil Peart - drums, cymbals, electronic percussion, tambourine