is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Depressed Mode - Ghost Of Devotion
From Finland another one-man project has taken the shape of a band, this time is the melodic doom metal band Depressed Mode. Oh yes, I like the pun towards that horrid pop band. Let’s see what their debut Ghost Of Devotion brings us.
The nine tracks on this album offer the listener a collection of melancholic and depressed funeral doom, accompanied by both male and female vocals. Melody plays an important issue in this band, because founder and lead composer of Depressed Mode, Ossy Salonen, plays the synthesizer as well as handling clean vocals and grunts. I hear a lot of classical influences down the line as well, and this feeling is only enforced by the enchanting vocals from Natalie Koskinen (Shape Of Despair).
I must say the mix of the album doesn’t sound as an overwhelming whole to me, which is a bit of a pity. But they probably tribe by any means necessary to get this thing recorded, especially when you consider that the recording process for it started about a year ago. Must have been a hell of a job getting her done.
For me there’s no real outstanding track on this album, but neither is there a bad track to be found. In other words, Ghost Of Devotion is a consistent album, which probably appeals to most fans of the genre. That is if you don’t mind the emphasis of the band lying on the keyboards.
Depressed Mode - Ghost Of Devotion
78/1001Details Firebox Records
Released on Monday Sep 17th, 2007
Funeral Doom Metal

Writer @DemonDust on Saturday Aug 25th, 2007

Tags: #Depressed Mode
Tracklisting 1. Alone
2. So Long
3. Words Of Silence
4. Suffer In Darkness
5. Ghost Of Devotion
6. The Sun Is Dead
7. Fallen Angel
8. Dunkelheit (Burzum cover)
9. Cold
Line up Ossy Salonen: Vocals, Synth Programming
Natalie Koskinen: Vocals
Tomppa Turpeinen: Guitars, bass

Guest performances:
Jamppa Lamminp��: Bass
Marko Tommila: Drums
Jori Haukio: Cello
Marissa Marjam�ki: Backing Vocals