is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Burn The Iris - Burn The Iris

The fall of 2006 brought not only falling leaves; five men gathered in the lower regions of the Netherlands to form a band called Burn The Iris. A year later they already finished the recordings of their first EP. This self named EP contains three strong songs with music influenced by bands like Poison The Well, Meshuggah, Killswitch Engage and Burst.

Opening track ‘Willing To Erase’ starts with a nice and calm guitar riff, but very soon after that, we hear what singer Richard is capable of. Richard has a very convincing and heavy voice when he screams, but the semi-spoken vocals need to be trained a bit more. Besides the prominent vocals, mostly in positive way that is, also the tightness of the band stands out. Not only the way they play, but also the production sounds very good. During ‘Rewind The Seasons’ especially the polyrhythmic parts are working out really well. Their music doesn’t become a total chaos, but it stands firm.

The last track of the EP, ‘The Red Poetry’, closes the EP worthy with more uncompromisable “noise”. Sometimes the metalcore genre is seen as the second nu-metal, but sometimes there are some new bands which make it to the surface and Burn The Iris is one of those bands. Burn The Iris can be proud of this release and I’m looking forward to their next record!

Burn The Iris - Burn The Iris
No ScoreDetails Self Released
Released on Friday Jan 18th, 2008

Writer @Gilles on Tuesday Feb 19th, 2008

Tags: #Burn The Iris
Tracklisting 01. Willing To Erase
02. Rewind The Seasons
03. The Red Poetry
Line up Richard – Vocals
Robin – Guitars
Yuri – Guitars
Marc – Bass
Erwin – Drums
Related Content
Burn The Iris - Ionosphere
Burn The Iris - Ionosphere