is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Draconian - Turning Seasons Within
The gothic doom metallers Draconian from Sweden return to the front again with their new record Turning Seasons Within. I remember their previous album The Burning Halo as a quite enchanting, atmospheric experience, so I was curious if they’d manage the same with this new effort. Let’s find out.
Yes they very well do! The same high level of atmospheric melodic passages combined with beautiful female vocals, clashing into depressing deep doom riffs filled with death grunts is pursued on Turning Seasons Within. Fans of the previous album(s) can probably stop reading now and just pick it up.
The excellent production of this record makes sure you hear a lot of the subtle details in the songs, even though the overall theme is never disturbed. Comparisons to Opeth would certainly not be out of place while listening to this record, especially the keyboards combined with softly distorted guitars create this feeling. Also the name Officium Triste comes to my mind more than once, only I enjoy this way better than their last effort to be honest.
Everybody into melodic, dramatic funeral doom with an excellent production should definitely check Draconian out. It’s not entirely my cup of tea, but I can recognise talent when I hear it, and it’s in abundance on this record.
Draconian - Turning Seasons Within
88/1001Details Napalm /Spv
Released on Friday Feb 29th, 2008
Gothic Doom Metal

Writer @DemonDust on Thursday Feb 21st, 2008

Tags: #Draconian
Tracklisting 1. Seasons Apart 06:31
2. When I Wake 05:49
3. Earthbound 08:10
4. Not Breathing 05:38
5. The Failure Epiphany 06:20
6. Morphine Cloud 07:32
7. Bloodflower 05:31
8. The Empty Stare 05:46
9. September Ashes 01:10
Line up Anders Jacobsson - Vocals
Lisa Johansson - Vocals
Johan Ericson - Guitar
Daniel Arvidsson - Guitar
Fredrik Johansson - Bass
Jerry Torstensson - Drums
Andreas Karlsson - Keyboard, programming