is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Porcupine Tree - Nil Recurring
Nil Recurring is basically an EP full of leftovers. But in the case of Porcupine Tree, these leftovers are very tasty. The disc has three tracks which were written during the Fear of a Blank Planet sessions, and a track which didn't make it to the mentioned album tracklist.

To quote Porcupine Tree mastermind Steven Wilson himself:

"[...] we had the album tracks plus two or three others that weren't fully developed, and then it was a case of choosing the tracks we wanted for the album. But there were also other ideas that we didn’t take any further so that was really the beginning of those extra tracks, we just did some more work and arrangements on them and thought they were pretty strong as well, so we can actually make an EP that’s going to be of some value to the fans instead of just a couple of new tracks and some things they’ve already got."

Stylistically, the tracks sound pretty similar to the Fear of a Blank Planet (FoaBP) material, but one could say that the songs tend to lean a bit more to the progressive, experimental side of the band. King Crimson guitarist Robert Fripp features on lead guitar on the title track, bringing his own almost psychadelic style to it. "Normal" features an almost identical chorus as FoaBP's "Sentimental"; and fans of that album will surely recognize some parts of the track "What Happens Now?".

The songs do not show every musical aspect of this band, but I guess that every Porcupine Tree fan will probably already own this EP. And if you liked the band's lastest full length then this will be an excellent 'extra'. 
Porcupine Tree - Nil Recurring
80/1001Details Peaceville UK
Released on Sunday Feb 17th, 2008
Prog Rock

Writer @Carn on Sunday Mar 16th, 2008

Tags: #Porcupine Tree
Tracklisting 1. Nil Recurring
2. Normal
3. Cheating the Polygraph
4. What Happens Now?
Line up Steven Wilson – vocals, guitars, piano, keyboards
Richard Barbieri – keyboards and synthesizers
Colin Edwin – bass guitars
Gavin Harrison – drums, percussion, tapped guitar on “Nil Recurring”