is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

My Shameful - Descend
About two years ago I reviewed the previous album of My Shameful from Finland, entitled The Return To Nothing. For more background info, see that review. Now their new album Descend lies before me, and boy does it have an uninspiring cover…
But like they say, you can’t judge a book by its cover, it’s the same with a record. The band plays a style of harsh funeral doom, which means long stretched, depressing songs and desperate vocals. Luckily My Shameful sticks to a more metal sound, leaving out stuff like, strings, female vocals and synthesizers. This causes for a more raw approach, which I like.
Still I get the feeling the previous record was better produced, it made a bigger impact on me, especially the atmosphere that was put on that record really got a hold of me. This one doesn’t even get halfway there, yet the songs are still pretty well arranged. It’s mainly the production and the mix that spoil it a bit for me. Also the vocals sound a bit too exaggerated every now and then. Too bad, because I was quite impressed with The Return To Nothing. Can’t say the same for Descend. Perhaps one can judge a book by its cover after all…
My Shameful - Descend
63/1001Details Firedoom/Firebox Records
Released on Monday Apr 14th, 2008
Funeral Doom Metal

Writer @DemonDust on Saturday Apr 12th, 2008

Tags: #My Shameful
Tracklisting 1. Allconsuming
2. Deity Of Retribution
3. This Hate
4. Of Haunting
5. Kill The Emptiness
6. Unrepentant
7. Self-Abuse
Line up Sami Rautio - vocals, guitars
Mario Hahn - guitars
Twist - bass
Jürgen Fröhling - drums