is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Strapping Young Lad - SYL
Another powerful and energic album to review, it's time for some heavy Industrial/Death/Heavy Metal!!! The album opens very strong with Dire an intro like song. There is some wicked Devin Townsend programming in this song and it refers a bit to the solo albums of Devin. Consequence is the first real song and damn what a flood of noise!! Gene Hoglan kicks his drums and Devin screams as usually. The songs are very various because some are referring to the more Industrial side of metal, while some passages are pure death metal. The most brutal songs on the album are: Relentless, Force Fed, Aftermath and Devour, which is also my personal favorite, because it has the perfect mix between death and industrial. I have to conclude that this album by Strapping, which has a quite various set up in songs, is a quality album which everyone should buy blind! Strapping Young Lad is a project by Devin Townsend and some other quality Musicians like Jed Simons and Gene Hoglan and on bass Byron Stroud. All four have other projects, like Zimmer's Hole and Just Cause, which features Gene Hoglan and Devin. With such a mastermind in metal in the band, Strapping Young Lad is a project which (in my opinion) deserves to be a full grown band. Although they tour around the world, they are still officially a project of Devin Townsend. But it still rocks!!! Track Listing: 1) Dire 2) Consequence 3) Relentless 4) Rape Song 5) Aftermath 6) Devour 7) Last Minute 8) Force Fed 9) Dirt Pride 10) Bring On The Young Line Up: Vocs/Guitars/Progs: Devin Townsend Guitars: Jed Simons Bass: Byron Stroud Drums: Gene Hoglan