is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Before The Dawn - Soundscape Of Silence
Before The Dawn is the brainchild of Tuomas Saukkonen, a hyper active Finnish musician who is also busy with projects/bands like Dawn Of Solace, Black Sun Aeon, Bonegrinder and Teargod. Tuomas initially started Before The Dawn as a solo project, but always worked with various session musicians.

Soundscape Of Silence
is Before The Dawn’s latest release in a series of five albums in six years, and was released in 2008. The band plays self-declared “dark metal”, a term I can’t place because I then don’t know what kind of metal it is except for the atmosphere. That is indeed dark, but more important is the fact that it’s melodic death metal. Sometimes a bit doomy, sometimes with more thrash or death metal elements but always very melodic.

The ten songs on the album are all well thought-through and structured. The production is, just like its predecessor Deadlight, clean and pleasant to listen to. Musically the band can be compared to for example Scar Symmetry. Tuomas does the grunts and growls, bassist Lars sings the clean parts and together they cover a great range of diverse vocals. Yet Before The Dawn is less brutal than Scar Symmetry, pointing more towards bands like Katatonia and Swallow The Sun.

If this form of ‘dark’ metal appeals to you, Soundscape Of Silence is a real recommendation. If you’re looking for something new, you’d better skip this release, for its sounds aren’t original in any way. Fans of the band or Tuomas’ other work won’t be disappointed though.
Before The Dawn - Soundscape Of Silence
70/1001Details Cyclone Empire/Stay Heavy Records
Released on Friday Oct 31st, 2008
Melodic Death Metal

Writer @Mindsaver on Monday Oct 5th, 2009

Tags: #Before The Dawn
Tracklisting 01. Dying Sun
02. Exile
03. Silence
04. Dear Reflection
05. Hide Me
06. Fabrication
07. Savior
08. Monsters
09. Cold
10. Last Song
Line up Tuomas Saukkonen - Vocals, Guitars, Keys
Juho Räihä - Guitars
Lars Eikind - Bass, Vocals
Dani Miettinen - Drums