is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Spiritus Mortis - The God Behind The God
Yes, another Finnish doom metal band! But this time it is no newcomer to the scene. In fact Spiritus Mortis is the oldest doom metal band from that particular country. Formed in 1987, the band has released numerous (eight to be exact) demo records, yet this is only their third full length record. I really wonder what that says about the band, being around for that long but not releasing a full length record until 2004. Oh well, let’s review The God Behind The God.
Spiritus Mortis plays doom metal in the traditional vein, which means it sounds like bands such as Black Sabbath, Pentagram, Cathedral, Candlemass, Trouble and Solitude Aeternus to name a few. The band recruited a new vocalist this year, and it is none other than Reverend Bizarre vocalist Sami Hynninen. His band quit two years ago, so I guess he was a natural choice for the band to pick. Also his voice fits the music really well, Sami has an epic voice which he can use in both a low and high pitch, creating the suiting dynamics vocally. Musically the tempo goes from dramatically slow to slightly up-tempo, just like most of the bands mentioned above.
Overall the production of this record is quite fine, and also the songs have been written in a good traditional fashion. This makes it a nice listen for every fan of this type of doom metal and I advise all to check them out if it appeals to you.
Spiritus Mortis - The God Behind The God
81/1001Details Firebox Records
Released on Wednesday May 13th, 2009
Doom Metal

Writer @DemonDust on Friday Oct 16th, 2009

Tags: #Spiritus Mortis
Tracklisting 1. The Man of Steel 03:02
2. Death Bride 07:52
3. The Rotting Trophy 04:08
4. Curved Horizon 08:29
5. When the Wind Howled with a Human Voice 05:47
6. Heavy Drinker 04:29
7. The God Behind the God 11:48
8. Perpetual Motion 03:28
Line up Sami Hynninen - vocals
Jussi Maijala - guitars
Kari Lavila - guitars
Teemu Maijala - bass
Jarkko Seppälä - drums