is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Devious - Vision
Vision is the third studio album by Dutch death metal act Devious. The band’s roots are originated in thrash metal, but their previous record Domain already had a bashing death metal sound, for which I gave them an incredible score of 93%. Let’s see if the new record has the same quality.

reintroduces original vocalist Arnold in the band. Although he and their previous singer both had an appropriate voice, Arnold sounds a bit lower - but besides that there isn’t much difference. The record as a whole doesn’t sound very differently either. Main songwriter Guido produced Vision together with Jochem Jacobs (Textures), who mixed and mastered the record in his own studio.

The result is once again a strong album full of thrash-influenced death metal with tons of technical yet grooving rhythms, tight drum work and venomous blastbeats. Some songs feature melodic mid-tempo parts, which are good for variation. By keeping the record shorter than its predecessor it doesn’t lose power either.

The only downside of this record is the fact the songs don’t stick in my head after listening. Although everything is well composed and the material surely doesn’t lack catchiness, it doesn’t leave the same impression as Domain did. For that I’ll give them a solid 75%. Vision is not groundbreaking but still more than decent and a must checkout for the serious death metal fan.
Devious - Vision
75/1001Details Deity Down Records
Released on Monday Aug 31st, 2009
Death Metal

Writer @Mindsaver on Sunday Nov 22nd, 2009

Tags: #Devious
Tracklisting 01. Heritage Of The Reckless
02. False Identity
03. Respiration Of Fear
04. Abide
05. Impulse Overload
06. Predefined
07. Validate
08. Disconnect
Line up Arnold Oudemiddendorp - Vocals
Guido - Guitars
Wouter - Guitars
Daniƫl Centiago - Bass
Frank Schilperoort - Drums