is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Norway - Rising Up From The Ashes
Meet Norway, from the United States of America. While I wonder whether that’s a new kind of theoretical concept or something I learn that this band has been around for quite some time, broke up and was reformed to make this album. How nice!
Like the Good Book says: ‘On the 6th day He created music. But some people thought that wasn’t enough and came up with genres of their own, so they created Adult Orientated Rock’. Most of the times, that’s not necessarily a bad thing. But in the case of Norway it is over-over the top.

There is nothing bad to say about the production, the capabilities of the musicians, tightness etcetera, the whole story again. Also, the songs are well structured and the vocal lines are pretty original given shape by a good singer. But my god, why did every song has to be about ‘you’re my baby honey’, ‘I’m can't be fooling myself’ ‘I can’t go on like this’ and the whole hocus pocus you only seldom want to hear when thinking about guitar music. 

Then imagine a cheesy keyboard in the background of every song and you’ve got the perfect music for broken hearted people in B-movies. This is too much vulnerability, sensitivity or whatever you want to call it in one cd which makes Norway looses its credibility totally, even with compositions like ‘Anything at All’ and ‘Won’t Let You Down’.
Norway - Rising Up From The Ashes
55/1001Details SPV
Released on Friday Jan 19th, 2007

Writer @CarpeSiem on Monday Jan 8th, 2007

Tags: #Norway
Tracklisting 1. Save Me
2. Anything At All
3. Only One I Need
4. American Girl
5. The Power Of Gold
6. Since You've Been Gone
7. Tell Me
8. Won't Let You Go
9. Haunted
Line up Jim Santos: guitars, keybaords, vocals
Marty Brasington: drums, percussion
Dave Baldwin: lead vocals, keybaords, backing vocals
Joe Slattery: bass, vocals
Related Content
In Vain - Aenigma
In Vain - Aenigma
Ribozyme - Presenting The Problem
Ribozyme - Presenting The Problem