is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Swallow The Sun - Hope
The country of a thousand lakes has spawned many good metal bands, like Waltari, Amorphis and Sentenced. These guys constantly changed their act, eventually enjoyed chart success, but kept credibility. Many bands that enjoy initial chart success tend to head out for a more commercial direction with their music. Swallow the Sun’s previous album, Ghost of Loss, was a big chart success in their homeland Finland. But their new album, Hope, hasn’t gone down the money-making road.
It’s understandable if you achieve success you want to cash in quickly and change your musical direction to a more accessible audience. Gladly Swallow The Sun did not choose the quick and easy way. Since their first album is now considered a classic, they choose to do what they're best at, good modern melodic doom metal. The difference between previous albums is really minimal. The production is good as usual, although I believe that the sound is a little heavier than their previous recordings. And singer Mikko Kotamäki is definitely grunting a lot more on this album.

This album has a guest contribution from Katatonia front man Jonas Renske on ‘Justice Of The Suffering’. It is the most bombastic song I’ve heard so far from this band. It sure gives a welcome variety to the album next to the overall heavy death doom songs.

The promoversion of this album contains the hidden track‘These Low Lands’. To my surprise the guest singer on this song appears to be Amorphis singer Tomi Joutsen. It is an outstanding track and definitely a highlight of the album. I find it thus strange that, according to bands homepage, this one will only be available on the limited digipack version of the album. So be quick or be dead because Swallow The Sun definitely delivers quality. Be sure to check them out on tour with Moonsorrow if doom metal is your thing.
Swallow The Sun - Hope
79/1001Details Spinefarm Records
Released on Wednesday Feb 7th, 2007
Doom Metal

Writer @Angel on Wednesday Feb 21st, 2007

Tags: #Swallow The Sun
Tracklisting 1. Hope
2. These Hours of Despair
3. The Justice of Suffering
4. Don't Fall Asleep (Horror pt.2)
5. Too Cold for Tears
6. The Empty Skies
7. No Light, No Hope
8. Doomed to Walk the Earth
9. These Low Lands (Bonus track)
Line up Mikko Kotam�ki - Vocals
Juha Raivio - Guitar
Markus J�msen - Guitar
Pasi Pasanen - Drums
Matti Honkonen - Bass
Aleksi Munter - Keyboards
Related Content
Fortarock 2016 - A heavy day in the park
Fortarock 2016 - A heavy day in the park
Swallow The Sun - New Moon
Swallow The Sun - New Moon