is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Peter Pan Speedrock - Spread Eagle
Finally! The new Peter Pan Speedrock release, Spread Eagle hits the stores. And what a masterpiece it has become. It's not easy to come up with a list of more than ten good Dutch bands that do well outside of The Netherlands, but Peter Pan has to be one of them. I can not come up with another Dutch band that is as consistant, as profecional and as fucking-cool as the Eindhoven-based trio. And even though their last full-length release (Lucky Bastards) was a bit of a disappointment for me, they still rule the entire rock scene in Holland if you'd ask me. And now, it's time to top all that with their latest, and maybe even greatest release to date: Spread Eagle.

Where shall I start? How about the A+ production? This thing sounds so great it rises above anything Peter Pan have ever laid down on track. Listening to Spread Eagle is like going to Disneyland as a kid. It's one big party, with your ears as the guests of honour. Thank you mister Tomas Skogsberg (Hellacopters, Glucifer, Entombed) for that fine tuning! It's been long since I've heard such an exiting studiosound. Another thing is Peter's voice, it sounds rawer, dirtier and more "bad-ass" than before, and that's another value point for the record.

Next up is the songwriting. When I think of Peter Pan Speedrock, I think of great songs with catchy chorus-lines. Stuff you know by heart, ready at your command whenever, wherever. Stuff that sticks to mind, stuff like "I'm gonna shoot, gonna shoot, gonna shoot somebody tonight and it's gonna make everything allright" (Tonight Allright), anthems like "time to get down, baby shake your ass to the rocking sound" (Time To Get Down) and "If you don't know how to live you're better off dead" (Better Off Dead). And who would not enjoy screaming "what would it take for you to wake up and get your head out of your ass" at random moments? Add that up with the extremely heavy instrumental track Red Wings and the fantastic Masters Of Reality-cover Domino and you've got yourself a great piece of work.  Somehow Peter Pan Speedrock always manages to sound incredibly heavy and fast, even tho it's your regular punk speeds they're laying down. And yes, this time it sounds even heavier, and even faster. Even more Peter Pan if you will.

I don't want to talk too much about this, and I shouldn't. You should hear this, truely. Peter Pan Speedrock have outdone theirselves once again, and if this doesn't deliver the definite international break-through, I don't know what will.

Spread Eagle is slamming, thumping, shouting and a whole lotta anthem (shout along) songs. It's like one big kick in the nuts. It's the stuff you play when you're happy, it's the stuff you play when you're pissed off as fuck, it's the record that will clog your car-stereo because it won't leave the CD-player the coming months. This album is a triumph for the Eindhoven-three, fucking awesome! Don't Say! I Told You So! Wroooooooaaaah!

Bart: Drums
Bart: Bass/Back-up vocals
Peter: Guitar/Vocals

1. Cock Teaser
2. Tonight Allright
3. Time To Get Down
4. Damn You All To Hell
5. Pay The Fucking Bill
6. Alfa Female
7. Ain't No Part Of Nothing
8. Good Stuff
9. Better Off Dead
10. Red Wings
11. Short Road To Nowhere
12. Outta Control
13. Domino