is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Various Artists - Streetrock, The Greatest Hits Series Vol. 01
Streetrock, The Greatest Hits Series Vol. 1 is an initiative of Dutch label Rebellion Records and presents us with 23 streetpunk/oi! tracks by 14 bands, hailing from nine different countries. Almost half of the songs were previously unreleased, which makes it interesting for collectors and for people who don’t know much about the genre.
Marching Orders opens this record with their song “Nihilistic” of which the intro reminds me very much of early Bad Religion. Their songs get in your head and have some nice lead guitars, reminding of the old punk days. Frei.Wild, hailing from Italy has something to say. Their amazing track “Das Land der Vollidioten” is all about people who judge on the streetpunkers/oi! audience.
Furthermore the record contains some fast singalongs by Strongarm And The Bullies, two tracks of Bakers Dozen's Rebellion release Sent Down and an unreleased demo version, plus an album track from probably the best band of the compilation Shock Nagasaki.
Razorblade, together with Discharger, are the only Dutch outings on this disc and they put down a great version of Condemned 84’s “Bootboys”.
When adding 23 tracks to an album, there’s always the odd band out. The misfit here definitely is 7er Jungs who just can’t keep up with the high level of the other bands. Production wise their songs absolutely don’t belong on this great compilation.
All in all this is a more then welcome addition to the compilation-market. Ideal for people who are fans of one of the bands, since the chance you’ll get an unreleased track by your favorite is pretty big. For people who wonder what streetpunk/oi! actually is this would be a nice start. Let’s hope Rebellion will keep this compilation alive. I’m already waiting for a volume 2.
Various Artists - Streetrock, The Greatest Hits Series Vol. 01
85/1001Details Rebellion Records
Released on Monday Oct 30th, 2006

Writer @Bad Astronaut on Monday Dec 11th, 2006

Tags: #Various Artists
Tracklisting 01 Marching orders: Nihilistic*
02 Marching orders: Marching orders
03 Frei.Wild: Das land der Vollidioten
04 Bakers Dozen: Hidden agenda
05 Bakers Dozen: Ripe for violence
06 The Clich�s: Monkey see, monkey do*
07 The Clich�s: We're the clich�s
08 The Corps Itchin' for evil*
09 The Corps: Bad Taste*
10 Shock Nagasaki: 1968
11 Hateful: Execution complex*
12 Hateful: Guarantee
13 7er Jungs: Frustration
14 7er jungs: 45 revolutions*
15 Discharger: Our hate is justified
16 The Veros: Male model*
17 The Veros: Just do it
18 Strongarm and…: Stand up
19 Strongarm and..: Life down beer*
20 Ultimo Asalto: Barcelona
21 Razorblade: Razorblade
22 Razorblade: Bootboys*
23 Shock Nagasaki: Don't let the bastards drag you down (demo)*

* previously unreleased material at the time of release
Line up