is a non-profit website created and maintained by a small group of music lovers from the Netherlands (and some other territories).
You can read more about us or contact us by clicking here. wil only accept digital promo's to save us all time. There will be a form available soon to upload the promo using our website. For now use the contact form available here to get in touch and send promos.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2024

Enter keywords and hit enter!

Various Artists - MTV |2 Headbangers Ball Volume 2

I remember me saying that a compilation should consist out of great songs or good remixes. According to my opinion Roadrunner failed with the Resident Evil: Apocalypse soundtrack. But a few days later there was the MTV|2 Headbangersball Vol.2, this is an MTV compilation that contains 40 tracks on 2 CD's. Are there that many good songs on this moment? Let's put this album in the CD player.

Disc One:
The first CD starts with Slipknot, again. This band may be the most successfull Metal band of the last 5 years. They are on every compilation with nu-metal. After that it is time for KoRn, Killswitch Engage (Yes, a normal version!), Megadeth and Atreyu. Wow, this start is pretty good. For me Atreyu has released one of the best albums this year so the party can't be stopped. But a couple of songs later there is Kittie and Him. Some people like these bands so it is ok but they are not my favourites. After that one it is time for Avenged Sevenfold, this band is really popping up in Europe at this moment. Last month I saw their clip on tv, I wrote the name down because it wasn't that bad. And last week a friend of me gave me the album. This band is pretty good and the variation they use in their music is great for my ears. After this more Roadrunner Bands like Soulfly, DevilDriver and Fear Factory but another band that I don't know for so long. In Flames with "The Quiet Place" is another great In Flames song and the first disc really impresses me.

The first disc of this compilation is great to listen to and I can listen to it over and over again. A couple of song are not completely my cup of tea but if I listen to it more often I might like it in the future.

Disc Two:
The first track of the 2nd CD is from Cradle of Filth, this is not a band that I like but their new album isn't that bad and this song is not so bad to listen to. After that, more Metalcore like God Forbid. Metalcore is the style that is going up the ladder. I like this genre and am looking forward to the tour of Machine Head that is being supported by God Forbid. Now it is time for real metal. Children of Bodom is up next and since I saw them at the Sziget festival I really dig these guys, the set they played over their was the best that I saw of them. Later on this CD there is Deicide, that is definitively not my style of music. I'm sorry for the people that I insult but this makes me laugh. More songs that I really like are from Trivium, All that Remains and The Blood has Been Shed (with Howard from Killswitch Engage). Esspecially the last one surprised me. The song I like the most is of another candidate for best album of this year, The Dillinger Escape Plan has brought us new original material and this track let you hear the best of this band.

The second disk is great as well, on this one there are more Older bands and new bands that are getting bigger and bigger.

Overal this compilation is very good and I was surprised by new bands I haven't heard before like The Blood Has Been Shed. I'm looking forward to compilations that look like this. Because it is a compilation the mark will not be as high as a normal album that is of the same quality but if you listen to alternative music and want to hear the best of the past 9 months, this is the CD for you. This is Metal up your ass, that is for sure!

Various Artists - MTV |2 Headbangers Ball Volume 2
75/1001Details Roadrunner Records
Released on Monday Apr 10th, 2006

Writer @Buzzin Hornet on Thursday Sep 23rd, 2004

Tags: #Various Artists
Tracklisting Disc 1:
1. Slipknot - \"Duality\"
2. Korn - \"Right Now\"
3. Killswitch Engage - \"Rose Of Sharyn\"
4. Megadeth - \"Kick The Chair\"
5. Atreyu - \"Right Side Of The Bed\"
6. Drowning Pool - \"Step Up\"
7. A Perfect Circle - \"Weak And Powerless\"
8. Shadows Fall - \"What Drives The Weak\"
9. Machine Head - \"Imperium\"
10. Superjoint Ritual - \"Waiting For The Turning Point\"
11. Kittie - \"Into The Darkness\"
12. HIM - \"Your Sweet Six Six Six\"
13. Avenged Sevenfold - \"Unholy Confessions\"
14. Lamb Of God - \"Laid To Rest\"
15. Soulfly - \"Prophecy\"
16. Black Label Society - \"House Of Doom\"
17. Damageplan - \"Breathing New Life\"
18. In Flames - \"The Quiet Place\"
19. Fear Factory - \"Archetype\"
20. Probot - \"My Tortured Soul (live from Headbangers Ball)\"

Disc 2:
1. Cradle Of Filth - \"Medusa And Hemlock\"
2. Unearth - \"The Great Dividers\"
3. God Forbid - \"Antihero\"
4. The Agony Scene - \"We Bury Our Dead At Dawn\"
5. Children Of Bodom - \"Needled 24/7\"
6. Bleeding Through - \"Love Lost In A Hale Of Gunfire\"
7. Trivium - \"Like Light To The Flies\"
8. Satyricon - \"Fuel For Hatred\"
9. Himsa - \"Rain To The Sound Of Panic\"
10. 3 Inches Of Blood - \"Deadly Sinners\"
11. The Black Dahlia Murder - \"Contagion\"
12. Every Time I Die - \"I Been Gone A Long Time\"
13. Blood Has Been Shed - \"She Speaks To Me\"
14. Eighteen Visions - \"Waiting For The Heavens\"
15. Deicide - \"Scars Of The Crucifix\"
16. All That Remains - \"The Deepest Gray\"
17. Twelve Tribes - \"Venus Complex\"
18. The Dillinger Escape Plan - \"Panasonic Youth\"
19. Martyr A.D. - \"American Hollow\"
20. Dimmu Borgir - \"Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse\"
Line up